teaching

Final Exam Haikus – Fall 2016 Installment

 

can-you-haiku-web

For my final exams in Western Civilization class, I like to include a bit of ostensibly “fun” extra credit for the students to allow them to show their understanding of the material in creative ways. My go-to for this type of extra credit opportunity is a haiku writing.

I was particularly proud of myself on this year’s final exam because I managed to make the instructions for the extra credit meta:

Please write a haiku (5 syllables)

About something we studied (7 syllables)

And makes me laugh, too (5 syllables)

Here’s a sampling of the most amusing (and in some cases, timely) responses I got this year:

Alcibiades, a

demagogue who is dumb and

stupid but sexy

//

Columbus sailed far

he called them Indian friends

his naming was wrong

//

95 Theses

Martain Luther posted these

Does Jesus agree?

//

Columbus, my man

Discovered America?

Natives disagree

//

Pericles was smart

We are gonna “build a wall”.

That will never work

//

The Habsburg Jawline,

after years of inbreeding

hurt Chuck V badly.

//

This final one, while not content-related, does reveal that this student well understands my biggest pet-peeves of historical “analysis” and how to hopefully avoid them:

//

Dr. Kogan’s class

is fun, but not when we say

the word bias, yeah.

Standard

Leave a Reply

